Sponsoring & collaboration

Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

Computer Architecture & Operating Systems department

Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Instituto Universitario de Sistemas Inteligentes y Aplicaciones Numéricas en Ingeniería

Gran Canaria Convention Bureau

Cabildo de Gran Canaria

Ayuntamiento de Las Palmas de Gran Canarias

General Information

Gran Canaria

The Canary Islands are an archipelago of Spain consisting of seven islands of volcanic origin in the Atlantic Ocean. The Gran Canaria Island is situated in the Atlantic area de Macaronesia, some 200 kilometres from the nearest tip of the African coast and 1,250 kilometres from Cadiz, the nearest continental European port. Its distinguishing trait is its round shape, with the peninsula of La Isleta in the Northeast, together with its volcanic origin

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Las Palmas is a province of Spain, consisting of the eastern part of the autonomous community of the Canary Islands. It includes the islands of Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, and Lanzarote. Its capital is the city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, on the island of Gran Canaria. Las Palmas de Gran Canaria is 350,000 inhabitants, making it the largest city in the Canary Islands and the eighth most populous city in Spain. Was founded in Vegueta in the 15th century and the city extended no further than Vegueta and Triana, home to most of its historical artistic heritage. Its main beach, Las Canteras, is one of the most attractive urban beaches in Spain, offers strollers a large number of cafeterias and restaurants with terraces.

The University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (ULPGC)

The University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (ULPGC) was founded during the 1989-1990 academic year alter an integration and redistribution process of existing university centres, some of which had been functioning under different names since the mid nineteenth or early twentieth centuries. ULPGC degree courses cover all the main areas of knowledge: Humanities, Social and Legal Studies, Health and Natural Sciences, and Technical Sciences. ULPGC is organized into 37 departments, 17 teaching centres, and 8 research institutes.

More information: ULPGC guide